Skip to content

PreGospel Truth – Lesson 1: All Are Guilty before God!

May 6, 2008

Romans 3:10 as it is written: “None is righteous, no, not one; 11 no one understands; no one seeks for God.
12 All have turned aside; together they have become worthless; no one does good, not even one.”
13 “Their throat is an open grave; they use their tongues to deceive.” “The venom of asps is under their lips.”
14 “Their mouth is full of curses and bitterness.” 15 “Their feet are swift to shed blood; 16 in their paths are ruin and misery, 17 and the way of peace they have not known.” 18 “There is no fear of God before their eyes.”

Romans 3:23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,

Ever wonder why it takes so long for familiar biblical truth to finally weigh heavy on our hearts? I can memorize a verse of scripture my whole life so much so that I know the ins and outs of it. But then its as if God slaps me upside the head and pierces my heart deeper than ever before, with the very verse I claimed I always knew. And its all new to me. The sermon jam below (in audio player) was my fresh reminder of weighty truth!

And it is this truth: 19 Now we know that whatever the law says it speaks to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be stopped, and the whole world may be held accountable to God.

All the world is guilty before God! Everyone! The whole world is Guilty!

My parents, my friends, my daughter, the cashier at Wal-mart, the guy at the movie ticket box, my boss, my co-workers, my aunt, my grandmother, my in-laws, all are guilty before God and accountable to Him. Everybody I know is guilty before God and has fallen way short of His glory.

All mankind is capable of the most wicked evils apart from the common grace of God. Without Him restraining our hearts of depravity, we would murder. He is so full of grace and goodness and holiness. And all will be left without any excuse. They have the evidence of Creation. Their mouths will shut up under the law with no response or complaint to place on God. He has revealed Himself, His invisible attributes, through the visible display of Creation.

We are required therefore to be righteous. Who is righteous? None but God! Wow! Why did it never weigh on me so heavier before till now? All people are guilty before God without the righteousness that comes through faith in His son. The righteousness He requires is satisfied through faith in His Son.

Believe today for righteousness. Believe! Or be guilty before God!

Excerpted from John Piper’s sermon: Mouths Closed and All the World Accountable to God

[splashcast SRCS7558GP RAJP7103HB]

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

